top of page

Ascendant’s Tear Overview

Frontcover LOC.jpg

What is Ascendant’s Tear?

Legend of Caemeris Series

War spews out upon the mortal land of Arglethium, embroiling its inhabitants with the ancient's in their quest for great power. Ancient motives and plans are set in action. Mortals are pawned across the battlefield. Forgotten mysteries are beginning to be unravelled.

The prism of caemeris, a repository of ancient power, is lost and the custodians of the second age of light seek it. In their search, they breach the world of Arglethium and bring with them Voloc, dweller of the void. The lands of Arglethium are catapulted into war as despots are woken to battle and ancient sentinels turn their gaze to the custodians and Voloc.

Ange, of the Eastern deserts, along with Gildas of the Northern tribes, Kado of the Drax Empire and Sa-Tuc assassin are found by Ascendant Diarch of Caemeris to help her seek the prism.

In the midst of their struggle to survive, Ange, Gildas, Kado, Sa come to the realisation that the world around them is not what they thought it was. Thrown into chaos and awakened to new realities, they must draw upon strengths which lay hidden in each of them. Their unlikely alliance grows stronger knowing that they cannot escape the bonds of duty placed on them by Ascendant.  Who are their allies? Are the Sentinels enemies or servants of the custodians and Voloc? What is the prism that Ascendant seeks and ensnares them in the ancient quest?

The Legend of Caemeris series appeals to the reader craving for large scale adventure and epic struggles between the individual and the world. Its sense of grandeur and universal themes of lust for power, courage, and desire to find meaning from the turmoil delves into the minds of the characters beyond the battle to the choices which face them and the chaos which comes when old truths are shattered and only doubts remain.

Similar in its ambition as Tolkien and Herbert, Legend of Caemeris brings the world of Arglethium to life and asks what would you do if you were given the power to rule light?

Book 1 tells of the arrival of the custodians and the finding of the descendants of the first tribes of Arglethium. Book 2 Voloc’s Reign continues the story.


Ascendant’s Tear will appeal to fantasy readers looking for a tale with plentiful and varied characters, adventure, subterfuge and whole civilizations at stake.


 -  Joanna Poncavage

bottom of page